Can Gaming Change The Way You Dream?

This is an interesting video about dreaming and gaming, and shows that gamers are more able to control their lucid dreams than non-gamers. From my own experience, I believe this to be the case, as I’m often able to control my dreams. Not always, but probably more than most people. It’s a really odd feeling, knowing that you’re dreaming and yet embracing it and being able to control (if only slightly) what you do in your dream. Odd, yet great fun. The point about the nightmares is true for me as well, as I very rarely have them.

Here are the links to the research.

Can you control your lucid dreams? Onwards!

This entry was posted in Gaming, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can Gaming Change The Way You Dream?

  1. 1001-Up.com says:

    Nice video man. 🙂

  2. shelldigger says:

    There are times I can influence my dreams, at least it feels that way. I am an avid gamer when I have time for it, and really like the shoot em up stuff. If it flies and shoots all the better.

    Anyway, I don’t know if this correlates or not but my dreams are a lot like a Bruce Willis action movie, moving from one adventure to another. Sometimes it’s a drag waking up. Only rarely will I have anything that resembles a nightmare, and wake with a start. But it happens.

    • Wedge7 says:

      Thanks for the comment! I suspect the fact you like shooters is influencing your action adventure dreams. I totally understand the not wanting to wake up! Some dreams are too good to have to leave.

Leave a Reply

