Affect Versus Effect

affect-effect-visual-guideJust like less and fewer, many people are confused by the difference between “affect” and “effect”. Luckily, Oxford Dictionaries has a handy visual guide for you to distinguish between the two words.

Affect: chiefly used a verb, meaning “to influence or make a difference too”.

Effect: most commonly used as a noun, meaning “a result or influence”.

A more detailed breakdown of affect versus effect can be found over at the Oxford Dictionaries Blog. Onwards

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Affect Versus Effect

  1. shelldigger says:

    Heh, I rarely misuse these two I had an evil English teacher in high school. You did not want to use bad form in her class. She was old school ornery, horn rimmed glasses, and would rake you over the coals. I hated her at the time. I know now she was one of the best teachers I had.

    I wish my kids had a teacher like that. I am always correcting them. Mostly with the misuse of bring and take. Damn but that irks me…

Leave a Reply

